CD / 2014 / self-released / SDCD.001


Ambient electronic sound-textures with extensive use of loops, atmospheric electric guitar, treated samples and dense synthesizer layers. Deep reverbs, subtle sequencers and drone-layers give the record an aquatic, organic, dreamy feeling.

About Cambrian

My first solo album went through a long developmental phase before I released the definitive version of Cambrian in 2014 as a kind of retrospective compilation. The core of Cambrian was recorded back in 2000. The intent was to explore the possibilities of a run-of-the-mill PC as a complete sound-scaping “instrument”, without the use of any additional equipment. The sole sound-source was a dry electric guitar-signal, plugged straight into the soundcard. Recorded cues were then heavily treated using the on-board effects of the card as well as  various sound-mangling applications to create the drones, loops, rhythms, chords, ambiences and effects that would make up the final multi-track pieces. Various draft versions circulated for years among contacts and friends but without getting an official release. Over the years, I softened the strict discipline of the “guitar-only”-concept in favour of a more satisfying selection. I gradually replaced most of the original tracks and Cambrian slowly evolved into something different. Eventually, only four tracks from the original guitar-based sessions made it onto the final record (the first four pieces), but I kept the working title.


The common element to all the pieces on Cambrian is their “aquatic” and somewhat melancholic mood. To me, they hint of an ancient geological epoch, when earth’s young and violent oceans were haunted by wonderfully exotic creatures - some of which were our ancestors. 


  • Breathing Water Just Below A Frozen Surface
  • Anomalocaris Sealed In Shale
  • Cambrian Lazy Afternoon Seascape
  • As The Last Trilobite Passes Away
  • The Venomous Splendor
  • Coiled Serpent
  • Meeting Infinity On The Riemann Sphere
  • Just Another Prophet
  • Calcite Eyes
  • Dark God
  • Lattice Lament


  • SD:  electric guitar / synths: DS-8, Six-Trak, Wavestation SR, Prophet 12 / loops / granular synthesis.
  • Birgit Schweimler: vocal sample on Lattice Lament.

Cover art

painting by Birgit Schweimler: details from Cambrian (2014) - acrylic, resin and mixed media on canvas (150 x 50 x 2).

Below is a view of the complete painting.


Birgit Schweimler - Cambrian
Birgit Schweimler - Cambrian